Police Take Back Kiener Plaza Park in St. Louis, MO

St. Louis (KSDK) — After more than forty days of protests, the occupation of Kiener Plaza in downtown St. Louis came to an end early Saturday morning — at least for now.

Just before mid-night, Occupy St. Louis protestors learned a federal judge denied their request to intervene.

“Ladies and gentlemen at this time we need you to get back to the sidewalk,” Lt. Dan Zarrick with the St. Louis Metropolitan Police announced to protestors over a bullhorn just before 1 a.m. Saturday.

Dozens of police officers made good on the city’s promise to enforce the 10 p.m. curfew in Kiener – an ordinance it had overlooked for weeks.

About two dozen protestors were prepared to leave in cuffs, and they did.  In all, 27 were arrested and all, police say, went peacefully.

[…]

It was one of the largest crowds gathered at Kiener since the protests began, but not everyone was there in support.

“Well we wanted to see the curfew enforced,” said Chris Evans as he watched from across the street. “The mayor gave them how much notice? It’s time to go.”

[…]

Video below the fold:

Explore posts in the same categories: politics

9 Comments on “Police Take Back Kiener Plaza Park in St. Louis, MO”

  1. tgusa Says:

    Dog meets pony. The police are policing, what a novel idea. Probably only because they feel they have to. Next time I’m out there throwing a fit I wonder how long the police will allow me to carry on? Probably not long. The double standard that I have witnessed will stick with me for the rest of my life. Decisions, even stupid ones, do have consequences.

    • tgusa Says:

      This morning I truly feel disenfranchised. I have been busy plotting my offensive, I call it the porta potty offensive, and it would have been offensive. I want my right to use other people crap to take a ****!

  2. tgusa Says:

    When I was young the crowd I hung out with liked to assemble at places like the beach, the volleyball court at the park, etc. Of course we always had to move around because the police would find us and run us off even though we were 18. There was no violence or drug dealing, sexual assault was unheard of and certainly there were no camp outs outside of designated campgrounds but still they targeted us for harassment. There was not much crime in my area and I always figured that they were bored and just trying to find something to do. So you can see where this sort of stuff really pisses me off.

    I’m a little tired of all of this crap. The last time I went to San Onofre with my son the park police came speeding over from a half mile down the road. You see, unbeknownst to myself or my son a lot of homos were using that trail for sex in the bushes. We looked like fags from about a half mile off! Of course as soon as they came up to us they realized their mistake and we all had a good laugh. Only later did it begin to irritate me.

  3. tgusa Says:

    Heres a recent story. I was talking to a guy who does hiring for a company in my area and he told me a story about a black woman who applied and was interviewed. He said she was totally qualified but he couldn’t hire her because the company already had enough of the black quota. This is in my area, this company came here because of the environment we created, safe, secure and low crime. Well I told him, I cannot believe you said that to me. I want your entire company out of my area! I asked, do you realize that your company is nothing but a bunch of racists ruining my once decent community? I asked them to leave but I am betting that eventually people here are going to demand that these types leave. These types are the reason why many of our young males cannot find work. The discrimination that I have witnessed against young white males in particular is something I will never forget. That’s right, these left wingers, these people who rage against unfainess, are despicable. At the same time they are doing this they are trying to call us racists.

    I now view all civil servants, who created this mess, as my greatest enemy. I will not stand by while anyone discriminates against my boys because they are well behaved, polite, smart and hard working but happen to be white.


  4. While I agree that our ‘system’ needs to be changed.

    Having ‘occupy’ movements is not gonna change anything. It only gives the crimninal homeless and other leftist groups room to camp outside for free.

    If these movements are truely for change they need to create a new type of Guvernment and try thier hand at politics and the polls.

    And just like other parties they will get corrupted by the very same powermongers that sit upon the US ‘throne’.

  5. Big Frank Says:

    I wonder if any of these spoiled elitist street commies (i.e. ‘useful idiots’) ever had a real job or ever voted?


Leave a Reply

