Rabbi Joshua Hammerman Predicts if Tebow Wins the Super Bowl, Emboldened Christians will Burn Mosques, Bash Gays, and Indiscriminately Banish Immigrants

It’s libtarded morons like Rabbi Hammerman that give Jews a bad name:

My Tim Tebow Problem
Rabbi Joshua Hammerman – Jewish Week Online

I’ve got a Tim Tebow problem.

I want to root for the guy, but I’m afraid of what will happen if the hulky Denver Bronco quarterback continues to pull off what is fast becoming the Greatest Gridiron Story Ever Told.  Since taking over as starting quarterback earlier this season, the Heisman winning national champion from the University of Florida has been winning consistently and dramatically, in the final minutes of the game or overtime, relying on powerful legs rather than his infamously erratic arm and confounding skeptical fans along with the Bronco management, who, it is said, were hoping he would fail.

A poster boy of the Christian right, Tebow steadfastly thanks Jesus after every game and, while in college, often inscribed biblical messages on his eye paint. Homeschooled in Florida, this child of missionaries turned down his selection as a Playboy All American because it was, well, Playboy.  His trademark prayerful touchdown celebration (imagine Rodin’s “Thinker” on bended knee, or your grandfather davening Tachanun with a football) has become a verb.  Google “tebowing” and you’ll find 84 million hits, including lots of YouTube parodies. Tebow’s mother, a Baptist missionary, became comatose during her pregnancy and was saved by drugs that nearly killed the fetus.  Doctors anticipated a stillbirth and recommended termination to protect her life, but Tim’s mother refused to abort.  Trumpeting that decision, mother and son appeared in commercials for “Focus on the Family” during this past season’s Super Bowl.

Now tiny Tim has grown and is on track to possibly appear in this season’s Super Bowl – on the field – and that is what scares me.

In this country, nothing, not even God, is more popular than football.   Even in the wake of a summer long labor dispute, 23 of the 25 most watched TV programs this fall have been NFL games.  When you combine the religion that is football with the religion that is religion, the mix can be dangerously flammable.  The NFL ratings rise has been fueled in part by Tebow’s legions of faithful followers, as well as by those simply curious to see how this implausible morality tale plays out.

[…]
Into the middle of it all rides Tebow.  Absolutely confident that God is on his side, he comes across as a humbler version of the biblical Joseph, who, in this week’s Torah portion, audaciously lays claim to being the Chosen One, and then goes out and proves it.  Tebow’s sanctimonious God-talk has led even pious peers like Kurt Warner to suggest that he cool it. Joseph could have used the same coaching.

If Tebow wins the Super Bowl, against all odds, it will buoy his faithful, and emboldened faithful can do insane things, like burning mosques, bashing gays and indiscriminately banishing immigrants.  While America has become more inclusive since Jerry Falwell’s first political forays, a Tebow triumph could set those efforts back considerably.

[…]

What?  Not worried about Christians burning Synagogues and rounding up American Jews, Rabbi Hammerman?  Yeah, I thought not.  Take your meds and stop watching so much MSNBC.  Sheesh!

Explore posts in the same categories: Insanity, Liberals, Religion, Sports

15 Comments on “Rabbi Joshua Hammerman Predicts if Tebow Wins the Super Bowl, Emboldened Christians will Burn Mosques, Bash Gays, and Indiscriminately Banish Immigrants”

  1. Big Frank Says:

    Rabbi Hammerman needs to be evaluated by competent psychiatric professionals.

  2. Gonzo Says:

    heh heh.
    The fact that folks find this ludicrous is telling.
    The fact that folks would not hesitate to believe that muslims would burn a church over the slightest of grievance, (based on historical data), is even more telling.

    ‘Hammerman’ must be Yiddish for “satire”.

  3. b-rad Says:

    I don’t know if the rabbi has any true Christian friends in his life, because the ones I know want to build a bridge to the Muslim community, they are FOR amnesty, and they accept gays into their church, but since there are a few radicals out there, I guess we all get lumped into the lunatic fringe

  4. tgusa Says:

    If Tebow wins the Super Bowl I won’t see it nor will I care. I just refuse to engage in discriminatory collectivism no matter how entertaining it might be.

    Psalms 26:
    1Judge me, O LORD; for I have walked in mine integrity: I have trusted also in the LORD; therefore I shall not slide.
    2Examine me, O LORD, and prove me; try my reins and my heart.
    3For thy lovingkindness is before mine eyes: and I have walked in thy truth.
    4I have not sat with vain persons, neither will I go in with dissemblers.
    5I have hated the congregation of evil doers; and will not sit with the wicked.
    6I will wash mine hands in innocency: so will I compass thine altar, O LORD:
    7That I may publish with the voice of thanksgiving, and tell of all thy wondrous works.
    8LORD, I have loved the habitation of thy house, and the place where thine honour dwelleth.
    9Gather not my soul with sinners, nor my life with bloody men:
    10In whose hands is mischief, and their right hand is full of bribes.
    11But as for me, I will walk in mine integrity: redeem me, and be merciful unto me.
    12My foot standeth in an even place: in the congregations will I bless the LORD.

    Where do Christian athletes stand on this? I think we already know.


  5. A little recon on hammerman….

    He blogs here:

    http://joshuahammerman.blogspot.com/

    His views on islam here:

    http://joshuahammerman.blogspot.com/search/label/Islam

    Oh look he is a interfaither:

    http://joshuahammerman.blogspot.com/p/about-me.html

    He added the following conclusion on his blog.

    “Addendum”

    “My Tebow piece is generating the expected outrage from the evangelical right (cant’ wait for Jews to begin chiming in!)”

    “I was careful in my comments not to accuse Tebow himself of potentially destructive acts but to suggest that a perceived divine mandate for Tebow could inspire mischief among the zealous evangelical right. Unfortunately, mosque burnings have already occurred in this country (and a notable Quran burning too). All it takes is one crazy person.”

    “As for Tebow, he has done extraordinary things. His love for people is unbounded. His entire life’s work is also predicated on saving my soul for Jesus. He’s not alone in this. Tebow has been affiliated with the Southern Baptists, who spend millions to convert Jews, often deceptively.”

    “I personally don’t consider that exemplary behavior. Is it better than raping little boys? Absolutely. But is it admirable? I have issues with anyone determined to save my soul, be that person Christian or Jewish. And when they are going after the souls of our kids on college campuses, with a multimillion dollar budget that puts the Jewish community’s education budgets to shame, I do think it is cause for concern. See for example -http://www.jewsonfirst.org/evangelizing.php”

    “Some Jews prefer to turn a blind eye to these practices, as evangelicals are very supportive of Israel (granted, with end-time conversions in mind). My ideal person of faith is a pluralist, one who accepts the legitimacy of my faith. Tebow does not. I do not find that admirable. ”

    http://joshuahammerman.blogspot.com/2011/12/my-tim-tebow-problem-jewish-week.html


  6. His comments are as meaningless as his editorial. He has no ebidence that Christians that will lead attacks on either gays, muslims or jews.

    What a waste of blogging space.

  7. tgusa Says:

    I would be satisfied with moving gay pride parades out of “born Christian” dominated areas and into other communities such as Dearborn, Detroit and perhaps East LA.

  8. Hal Royce Says:

    Sick fellow tribesman like this idiot makes being Jewish embarrassing. Putting the moniker “Rabbi” in front of his name makes all Jews look stupid. He’s too self-absorbed and condescending to understand this. Since when does a Rabbi speak for Christians and then make insane statements to print? What’s the sense of him being allowed to submit such trash? Tebow is doing something incredible for Denver and the NFL. I’m a Ravens fan, but always for the underdog. I hope the Rabbi chokes on an un-kosher hotdog at Gillette Stadium. This is just one more reason for the rest of the nation to despise the Patriots. Slander is tantamount to murder in our ancient law. Lashon hara, the Hebrew term לשון הרע; “evil tongue”, is the halakhic term for derogatory speech about another person.

    • tgusa Says:

      Putting the moniker “Rabbi” in front of his name makes all Jews look stupid.

      Well that would be true if we were lefturds Hal but we are not lefturds so don’t be too concerned, we all have our idiots.

  9. Ronin Says:

    The rabbi has removed the article from his website, I guess the backlash worked. If he wants to post an apology, we would consider running it.

    In all the years Doc and I have worked on this blog, we have never had to remove an article. Granted, I have loads of fun with some of the comments but we like our method of just fighting with the truth, it has a way of leaking out if you are relentless and know where to look.

  10. Rabbi Hal Greenwald Says:

    I was going to post a response to all of the inane parts of Rabbi Hammerman’s article, but with all of the choices I didn’t know where to begin.

    Rabbi Hal Greenwald
    Los Angeles

  11. Big Frank Says:

    Christophobia is running rampant in the USA fueled by the anti religious lunatic left.

    • tgusa Says:

      I call it, The Key. My personal favorite, the KJV or King Lames Version.

      Muslim trapped in islamic country fears his life changing revelation.

      Muslims have been indoctrinated since birth to rely on religious leaders for the way to salvation. What muslims don’t understand is that Christianity is a personal relationship with God and Christians have no particular obligation to follow any particular church or church leader. The Bible will tell you everything you need to know but its not a set of instructions the Bible requires reading, contemplation and then comprehension which is only possible through free will. God wants us to be inquisitive and we after all were made in Gods image. .
      Not everybody needs to be John the Baptist. God has a plan for each individual and all you need to do is find it.

      Good luck and God Bless. Seek and ye shall find.

      Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year everyone especially those trapped in muslim nations.


Leave a Reply

